Identity
Country
Sweden
USA
China
China
Israel
StatusConcept / Prototype / Pre-order / Certified / Delivering / In service
DeliveringFirst customer deliveries reported in 2025Third-party figure
Pre-orderReservations for 2027 delivery
CertifiedTrial commercial operations; public ticketed flights not yet launched (June 2026)
Pre-orderProduction began Nov 2025; deliveries planned for 2026
PrototypeCargo version delivering since Dec 2025Third-party figure
Announced
Oct 2021Third-party figure
Oct 2023Unveiled when Opener renamed itself Pivotal
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Available
2025Deliveries began 2025; orders now for 2027Third-party figure
Not disclosed
2025First operator certificates issued March 2025
2026Planned
Not disclosed
Configuration
SeatsIncluding the pilot, if any
1
1
2Not listed on EHang's product pageThird-party figure
2Third-party figure
2Both seats can fly itThird-party figure
Control
Manual / Autonomous / BothWhat this means
Manual means a person on board flies it, usually helped by computers that keep it stable. Autonomous means no pilot at all: the aircraft follows a planned route and is watched from the ground.
Manual4-axis joystick, with stabilising flight computers
ManualSingle stick and touchscreen, with automated take-off and landing (Level 2 autonomy)
AutonomousFlies preset routes with no pilot on board; fleets run from a central command system
BothSingle-stick manual control or autopilot
Manual'Fly by intent' simplified controlsThird-party figure
Pilot licence
Does the person on board need one?What this means
Very light single-seat aircraft can fall under ultralight rules, which in some countries (including the US) need no pilot's licence. Heavier or passenger-carrying aircraft need a licensed pilot, or no pilot at all if certified as autonomous. Rules differ by country.
Not disclosed
Not requiredPivotal says no pilot's licence is needed
No pilot on boardPassengers only
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Lift layout
How it lifts and moves forwardWhat this means
A multicopter uses many rotors for both lifting and moving, like a big drone: simple, but energy-hungry. Designs with a wing use the rotors to take off, then let the wing carry the weight in forward flight, which goes faster and farther on the same battery.
Multicopter
Tilting airframeThe whole aircraft pitches forward to fly on tandem wings; rotors are fixed and it steers by varying their speed (AOPA)
MulticopterCoaxial rotors, in stacked pairs
MulticopterAridge describes a six-rotor, dual-duct design with folding arms and blades
Multirotor with wingPropellers and wings don't tiltThird-party figure
RotorsPropellers counted individually
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
16Eight arms with a stacked pair on eachThird-party figure
6
8Four stacked pairsThird-party figure
Motors
8High-performance brushless electric
Not disclosed
16Third-party figure
Not disclosed
8Third-party figure
Performance
Max take-off weight
kg: aircraft + people + cargoWhat this means
The heaviest the aircraft is allowed to be when it leaves the ground, fully loaded. Subtract the empty weight and you get how much it can carry. Electric aircraft are heavy for their size because batteries hold far less energy per kilogram than fuel.
210 kgCalculated: 115 kg aircraft plus 95 kg maximum pilot. Jetson doesn't state a max take-off weight
258 kg568 lb (the earlier BlackFly: 548 lb)
620 kg
Not disclosed
1,220 kgThird-party figure
Empty weightkg, without people or cargo
115 kgIncluding batteries; 55 kg without them
115 kg254 lb, excluding floats and safety devices
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
970 kgThird-party figure
Payloadkg, people plus cargo
95 kgMaximum pilot weight
100 kgMaximum pilot weight, 220 lb
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
250 kgThird-party figure
DimensionsLength × width × height, rotors included
2.70 × 1.60 × 1.12 mFolds to 0.98 m wide
4.47 × 4.55 × 1.63 m14 ft 8 in long, 14 ft 11 in wide, 5 ft 4 in high on flat ground
5.73 m wide × 1.93 m highLength not listed
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Flight timeMinutes, with the maker's conditions
20 minApproximate; 18.5 min demonstrated in 2024 range tests
20 minMaximum endurance
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Rangekm, with the maker's conditions
17.7 kmDemonstrated in Jetson's 2024 endurance tests: 17.74 km at 60 km/h cruise, about 18.5 minutes
32 km20 miles, keeping a 20% battery reserve
30 km
Not disclosed
177 kmEstimatedThird-party figure
Speed
Max or cruise, as stated by the makerWhat this means
Max speed is the fastest an aircraft may fly; cruise speed is the efficient pace it normally travels at, and is always lower. Each figure here says which one it is, so compare like with like.
102 km/h maxSoftware-limited; cruised at 60 km/h in Jetson's 2024 range tests
102 km/h cruise55 knots at max take-off weight; max speed not stated
130 km/h maxMaximum design speed
Not disclosed
249 km/h cruiseEstimated by AIRThird-party figure
Max altitude
The maker's stated ceilingWhat this means
How high an eVTOL may fly is often set by law or by software rather than by what the aircraft could physically do. Ultralights, for instance, are restricted to low altitudes, and most eVTOLs are designed to fly a few hundred metres up.
457 m above groundJetson's service ceiling: 1,500 ft above ground level, up to 10,000 ft (3,048 m) above sea level
5,000 ft above sea levelPivotal's operating limit: flights up to 5,000 ft (1,524 m) above sea level. AOPA reported this as 5,000 ft above ground level
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Power
BatteryType and capacity, where given
Lithium-ionHigh-discharge
8 kWhTotal storage
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Charging timeWith the charge level stated
Not disclosed
75 min20% to 95% on a 240 V / 50 A charger
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Safety
RedundancyWhat keeps it flying when something fails
Flies on with any one motor outTriple-redundant flight computer
Triple-redundant failsafe systems
Multiple backup flight-control and power systemsFlight computers vote; health monitoring decides whether to continue or land
Not disclosed
Can land with one or more motors outCan glide to a runway or road if all propellers stopThird-party figure
ParachuteWhole-aircraft parachute: yes / optional / no
Yes, ballisticJetson Airframe Parachute System
YesEmergency floats optional for flying over water
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Yes, ballisticThird-party figure
Certification
Certificates held, with the authorityWhat this means
Aircraft that carry passengers commercially need a type certificate (the design is safe), a production certificate (it can be built consistently) and an operator certificate (a company may fly it for paying customers). Ultralights skip most of this, which is why they reach buyers sooner.
Not disclosed
FAA Part 103 ultralightNo pilot certificate needed; flights over non-congested areas, away from airports
CAAC type, production and operator certificatesType 2023, production March 2024, operator March 2025: the first for a pilotless passenger eVTOL
Not disclosed
Not disclosed