TECHNOGLOBE
In serviceRobotaxis

Zoox (Amazon) · USA

Zoox robotaxi

Amazon-owned Zoox's carriage-style robotaxi: four seats facing each other, no front or back, and no steering wheel, built from scratch to never be driven by a person.

Paid rides in Las Vegas since August 2026, free rides for waitlist members in San Francisco. Zoox received a US exemption in July 2026 to build up to 2,500 a year.

AI-generated illustration of Zoox robotaxi
AI-generated illustration
Seats
4
Steering wheel
NoneThird-party figure
Cameras
Not disclosed
Lidar
Not disclosed
Radar
Not disclosed
Driverless miles
~2M

How it works

5 ideas that make Zoox robotaxi different

1

No front, no back

It drives equally well in either direction and steers all four wheels, so it never needs to turn around or reverse out of a tight street.

2

Sensors on every corner

Sensor pods on all four top corners combine cameras, lidar, radar and thermal cameras, each giving a wide view, so together they see all the way round the vehicle with overlap.

3

Heat vision

Thermal cameras see the warmth of people and animals, picking out a pedestrian in darkness or glare that might fool an ordinary camera.

4

Built around riders

Four seats face each other like a carriage, with no driver controls taking up space. Its interior was refined using feedback from over 500,000 riders.

5

Needs special permission

Because it has no steering wheel or pedals, it doesn't meet standard US car safety rules written for human drivers, so Zoox needed a federal exemption to put it into service.

Watch it drive

Seeing the world differently: Inside the Zoox robotaxi's 360° vision — Zoox (official). Zoox explains how its robotaxi sees all the way around.

Full specifications

Compare with other Robotaxis

Figures are the maker's own unless marked as a third-party figure. Nothing below has been independently verified.

Identity

Country
USA
Status
In servicePaid in Las Vegas; free in San Francisco under current permits
Built by
ZooxHayward, California
Announced
Dec 2020

Service

Driverless miles
What this means

Miles driven with no human ready to take over, across the company's whole fleet. Most were driven by older vehicles, so this measures each company's experience rather than the car shown. Companies count differently, so check the note under each figure.

Nearly 2 millionAll autonomous miles as of March 2026; Zoox doesn't say how many had no one able to take over
Cities
Las Vegas, San FranciscoEmployees, family and friends only in Austin and Miami (Oct 2026)

Cabin

Seats
4Two benches facing each other
Steering wheel
What this means

A car built without a steering wheel or pedals can never be driven by a person, so it has to be fully self-driving everywhere it goes. Removing them frees up space, but in most countries it also needs special approval from regulators.

NoneNo steering wheel or pedalsThird-party figure
Doors
Not disclosed
Dimensions
3.63 m longAs announced in 2020Third-party figure

Sensing

Cameras
What this means

Cameras see colour, text and signals, like traffic lights and road markings, and are cheap. On their own they have to estimate distance from the image, and they struggle in glare and darkness.

Not disclosed
Lidar
What this means

Lidar fires laser pulses and times their return, measuring the exact distance to everything around the car in 3D, day or night. It adds cost, which is why Tesla leaves it out and relies on cameras alone.

Not disclosed
Radar
What this means

Radar uses radio waves to measure distance and speed. It sees through rain, fog and spray where cameras and lidar struggle, but in less detail.

Not disclosed
Other sensors
Thermal camerasLong-wave infrared, alongside cameras, lidar and radarThird-party figure
Sensor range
Not disclosed
Onboard compute
Not disclosed

Power and performance

Battery
133 kWhAs announced in 2020Third-party figure
Range
16 hours per chargeContinuous operation, as announced in 2020; no distance givenThird-party figure
Top speed
120 km/h75 mph, as announced in 2020Third-party figure

Safety

Redundancy
Redundant hardware throughoutThird-party figure

Sources

Last checked 2026-10-23.