TECHNOGLOBE
Prototype · pilot production 2026Humanoids

Boston Dynamics · USA

Atlas

An all-electric industrial humanoid built for factory work, starting with parts sequencing at Hyundai car plants. It swaps its own batteries and its joints rotate a full 360°.

2026 units go only to Hyundai and Google DeepMind pilots. Orders for other customers are expected to open in 2027. The unit shown at CES 2026 was a teleoperated prototype.

AI-generated illustration of Atlas
AI-generated illustration
Height
190 cm
Weight
90 kg
Degrees of freedom
56Total
Payload
50 kg peak
Runtime
~4 h
Environmental rating
IP67, -20 to 40 °C

How it works

6 ideas that make Atlas different

AI-generated illustration of Atlas

Numbers mark where each idea sits on the robot.

1

A planning brain

A high-level system reads camera data and plans the task. Google DeepMind is integrating its Gemini Robotics models here.

2

A reflex layer

A separate fast loop handles balance and motor torque many times a second, so planning never slows down staying upright.

3

Batteries it changes itself

Two swappable packs. When low, Atlas walks to a station and swaps them without help, for near-continuous shifts.

4

Joints that spin all the way

Joints rotate a full 360°, so the torso can turn around or the legs reverse instead of the whole robot repositioning.

5

Hands that feel

Three fingers plus an opposable thumb, with tactile sensors in the fingers and palm to judge grip.

6

Built to be repaired fast

Only two actuator designs across the body. A technician can swap a whole limb in under five minutes.

Watch it move

Atlas Airborne | Boston Dynamics & @rai-inst — Boston Dynamics (official). Research version of Atlas, tested with the RAI Institute.

Full specifications

Compare with other humanoids

Figures are the maker's own unless marked as a third-party figure. Nothing below has been independently verified.

Identity

Country
USA
Status
PrototypePilot production; 2026 units committed to Hyundai and Google DeepMind
Price
Not disclosed
Announced
Jan 2026Production version at CES 2026; electric Atlas first shown Apr 2024
Available
2027Orders for other customers expected to open

Body

Height
190 cm
Weight
90 kg
Degrees of freedom
What this means

Each degree of freedom is one joint that can move on its own. More joints mean more human-like movement, but also more motors to power and control. Hands are where counts climb fastest: a dexterous hand alone can have 10 to 20.

56 totalBody/hand split not published
Hands
Dexterous3 fingers + opposable thumb, tactile sensing
Locomotion
Legged

Performance

Max speed
Not disclosed
Payload
What this means

How much a robot can lift is quoted in very different ways: per arm or with the whole body, as a brief peak or something it can hold all shift. Only figures measured the same way can be compared.

50 kg peak · 30 kg sustainedCarried, whole robot
Battery capacity
Not disclosed
Runtime
What this means

Hours on one charge mean little without the conditions: standing still drains far less than walking or carrying loads. A robot that swaps its battery can work longer than its runtime suggests.

About 4 hConditions not stated
Battery swap
AutonomousDual batteries swapped by the robot at a station
Charging time
Not disclosed
Environmental rating
What this means

The IP code says how well the robot is sealed: the first digit is dust, the second water. IP67 means dust-tight and able to survive brief submersion, which matters in factories that are hosed down.

IP67, -20 to 40 °CWater-resistant for washdowns

Intelligence

Onboard compute
Not disclosed
Sensors
Vision cameras, tactile hand sensorsFull suite not disclosed
Control approach
What this means

Who is really in control. A teleoperated robot is driven by a person; a scripted one replays programmed moves; a learned policy decides for itself from training. Demos often mix all three without saying so.

Autonomous, teleoperated or tablet-steeredGemini Robotics models via Google DeepMind

Market

Target use
IndustrialParts sequencing at Hyundai Metaplant America by 2028
Developer access
Not disclosed

Sources

Last checked 2026-10-19.