TECHNOGLOBE
Limited serviceRobotaxis

Tesla · USA

Cybercab

Tesla's two-seat robotaxi with no steering wheel or pedals. It sees the road with cameras alone, betting that software can do what other companies use lidar and radar for.

Cybercabs joined Tesla's public robotaxi fleet in part of Austin in September 2026, mixed in with Model Ys. Riders can't request one specifically.

AI-generated illustration of Cybercab
AI-generated illustration
Seats
2Third-party figure
Steering wheel
NoneThird-party figure
Cameras
8Third-party figure
Lidar
0Third-party figure
Radar
0Third-party figure
Driverless miles
~2MThird-party figure

How it works

5 ideas that make Cybercab different

1

Cameras only

Tesla gives the Cybercab eight outward cameras and no lidar or radar for driving. Its argument: people drive with eyes alone, so good enough software should too. It keeps the car cheap, but leaves it with no backup sense in glare, fog or darkness.

2

Learning from a fleet

The same camera-based software runs in Tesla's customer cars, which collect real-world driving clips that Tesla uses to train it.

3

No wheel, no pedals

There is no way for a person to drive it: steering and braking are controlled electronically. US regulators are currently examining how Tesla certified it for public roads.

4

Small and efficient

With two seats, two doors and a 47.6 kWh battery, it is smaller and lighter than a family car, built for one or two riders at a time.

5

Supervision is being removed in steps

Tesla's robotaxi service has run with safety monitors on board, removing them city by city and car by car. Tesla doesn't say what share of its rides now have no monitor.

Watch it drive

Cybercab | The Future is Autonomous — Tesla (official). Tesla's introduction to the Cybercab, released after its October 2024 unveiling.

Full specifications

Compare with other Robotaxis

Figures are the maker's own unless marked as a third-party figure. Nothing below has been independently verified.

Identity

Country
USA
Status
Limited serviceAustin only, since Sept 2026; Tesla says 300+ are in service thereThird-party figure
Built by
TeslaGiga Texas, AustinThird-party figure
Announced
Oct 2024Unveiled at Tesla's 'We, Robot' event

Service

Driverless miles
What this means

Miles driven with no human ready to take over, across the company's whole fleet. Most were driven by older vehicles, so this measures each company's experience rather than the car shown. Companies count differently, so check the note under each figure.

Nearly 2 millionUnsupervised miles across Tesla's robotaxi service through Sept 2026, almost all in Model Ys (Tesla shareholder update)Third-party figure
Cities
AustinCybercab only in Austin. Tesla's wider service: Austin, Dallas, Houston, Miami, Orlando, Tampa, plus the SF Bay Area with a safety driver (Oct 2026)Third-party figure

Cabin

Seats
2From Tesla's EPA filingThird-party figure
Steering wheel
What this means

A car built without a steering wheel or pedals can never be driven by a person, so it has to be fully self-driving everywhere it goes. Removing them frees up space, but in most countries it also needs special approval from regulators.

NoneNo steering wheel or pedals; steered by wireThird-party figure
Doors
2Third-party figure
Dimensions
1.75 m wide × 1.41 m highLength not statedThird-party figure

Sensing

Cameras
What this means

Cameras see colour, text and signals, like traffic lights and road markings, and are cheap. On their own they have to estimate distance from the image, and they struggle in glare and darkness.

8Plus one camera inside the cabinThird-party figure
Lidar
What this means

Lidar fires laser pulses and times their return, measuring the exact distance to everything around the car in 3D, day or night. It adds cost, which is why Tesla leaves it out and relies on cameras alone.

0Tesla relies on cameras aloneThird-party figure
Radar
What this means

Radar uses radio waves to measure distance and speed. It sees through rain, fog and spray where cameras and lidar struggle, but in less detail.

0An overhead radar inside the cabin only detects who is seatedThird-party figure
Other sensors
Not disclosed
Sensor range
Not disclosed
Onboard compute
Tesla self-driving computerBased on Tesla's Hardware 4; performance not statedThird-party figure

Power and performance

Battery
47.6 kWhFrom Tesla's EPA filingThird-party figure
Range
673 km (unadjusted test)418 miles on the EPA's unadjusted test cycle; New Atlas estimates about 480 km (300 miles) in real useThird-party figure
Top speed
Not disclosed

Safety

Redundancy
Not disclosed

Sources

Last checked 2026-10-23.